mSCOA historical background


The historical vote structure in municipalities consisted of two components, namely the ‘department’ and ‘item’, which is accommodated in mSCOA as part of the ‘Municipal Standard Classification segment’ and the ‘Item segment’ respectively. mSCOA has introduced five additional components/segments, increasing the dimensions of reporting on financial data.


Every transaction and budgeted item will now have seven descriptors per mSCOA. The Item segment forms the financial component of the transaction while the other six segments are added attributes to the transaction.    These yield more meaningful insights into the business processes of a municipality, and comparability across various municipalities due to the standardized nature of six prescriptive segments of the seven required by mSCOA.


Ginini Consulting is offering wider range of ONLINE courses.  In response to high demand from our clients who wish to limit person-to-person interaction due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) epidemic. Upskill yourself today from the comfort of your quarantined home by enrolling for mSCOA online courses today.


Each course is taught by mSCOA preferred trainer endorsed by National Treasury and the online material will consist of video content, case studies, live Q&A sessions and online tests — as well as mSCOA Certification of Completion.

Build in-demand mSCOA skills in an accessible online format. mSCOA Online Courses from Ginini Consulting.



Municipal experience


Who this course is for:

  • Anybody interested in learning municipal operations
  • Consultants working in the municipal industry
  • Existing or new municipal officials